a midcentury modern building facade

NERS promotes several faculty members and research scientists

The promotions take effect September 1, 2020.

The U-M Department of Nuclear Engineering and Radiological Sciences (NERS) is pleased to announce the promotions of several faculty members and research scientists. “NERS hires great people and we anticipate they will succeed,” said NERS Chair Todd Allen. “These promotions make clear that the future of NERS is strong.”

Nicholas Jordan

Promoted to Associate Research Scientist

Joined NERS in 2013

Jordan is the lab manager for the Plasma, Pulsed Power and Microwave lab in the basement of the NAME building. His current research interests include high power microwaves, pulsed-power technology, plasma diagnostics, and the dynamics of Z-pinch implosions.

Professor Brian Kiedrowski 

Promoted Associate Professor with tenure

Joined NERS in 2014

Kiedrowski’s research at NERS focuses on the intersection of particle transport methods, computing, and nuclear data for general purpose applications with focuses on nuclear energy and nuclear security applications. He was awarded the Charles and Elizabeth Schrock Faculty Development Professorship in 2019. 

Professor Alec Thomas 

Promoted to Professor with tenure

Joined NERS in 2008

Thomas works in experimental and theoretical plasma physics, focused on the physics and applications of high-power laser interactions with plasma. Thomas is a member of the Center for Ultrafast Optical Science, which hosts the NSF midscale facility ZEUS. He was made a Fellow of the American Physical Society in 2018.

Yuefeng Zhu, Ph.D.

Promoted to Associate Research Scientist

Joined NERS in 2014

Zhu’s researches room-temperature semiconductor radiation detectors.

Media Contact

Sara Norman

Marketing & Communications Manager